ZTR Mowers

Discussion in 'The Water Cooler' started by englum_06, May 21, 2014.

1. englum_06

englum_06 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    So what's your opinions on some of the ZTR mowers out there? I'm in the market and it's pretty tough to decide- there's a ton of options. I mow a little over 2 acres, mostly open, about a dozen trees to mow around. The yard is nice and flat- no holes or lumps or stumps to tear anything up with. So far I've been looking at Husqvarna, Bad Boy, Dixon, Dixie Chopper, and Ferris. It looks like Bad Boy and Husqvarna are going to be the closest to my price range- Id like to stay under $4,000. I have no experience with any of them so any input is great.

2. Matt

Matt Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Do you have a Kubota dealer near you? I looked at them and really liked them...just too many hills for me to deal with.

3. LittleChief

LittleChief Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    I wish I could help you, but when I was looking for one I decided to double the price and get a commercial model. I settled on a John Deere Z830A. I don't think they make that model any longer. Yeah, it was expensive, but it's built like a tank and I know that if I take care of it it'll last the rest of my life.

I do love the 850cc Kawasaki engine on that joker. :)

Last edited: May 21, 2014
  4. MGH_PA

MGH_PA Moderator

Dislikes Received:
    Kubota is going to be out of your price range most likely. If you have a lot of trees around, make sure you deck enough deck size to cut in around without scrubbing your tires too much (52" should be sufficient).

I did a year's worth of research before buying a used Gravely PMZ48 commercial grade mower. I found one with low hours and jumped on it. That may be an option for you as well if you want to get more machine for your money. I would definitely recommend going with a brand that has a dealer nearby just for serviceability if the time arises.