Wisconson Northern woods public lands

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by Xoutdoors, Dec 13, 2015.

1. Xoutdoors

Xoutdoors Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Has anybody that hunts the northern woodlands in Wi have any luck harvesting nice bucks there? Im not seeing any deer or a nice one out in Polk county. this is my first time hunting the northern woodlands.

2. Smokey

Smokey Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I hunt the big timber of Sawyer and Bayfield Counties. Both County and Federal lands. Not much for farm lands around here mostly large tracts of timber. The herd is down from the high of a few years ago mostly due to the two hard winters in a row here. The herd is on the rebound but with the predators I doubt that it will grow fast. I am seeing nice bucks but it takes a lot of scouting and trail camera use.

I hunted Polk/Burnett years ago but can't say what it is like anymore. It was good back then.

3. Scoutking07

Scoutking07 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I hunt the north eastern part of the state, mostly Northern Oconto and Forest County. All National Forest land and although the deer populations are lower than previous years, it was a great year for antler growth. I have to agree with Smokey however, there are some dandy bucks roaming the big woods but it takes a ton of scouting and camera work to have a true chance at them. My family and I have been pretty lucky over the past decade, tagging multiple mature bucks in the national forest but we have put in a crazy amount of miles scouting and shed hunting along with my 7 trail cams and my fathers 10. No feeling better than putting a tag on a public land big woods buck!

4. Sota

Sota Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received: