will a kisser button help my accuracy?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by palmettoyounggun, Aug 15, 2012.

1. palmettoyounggun

palmettoyounggun Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I am new to bow hunting and have been getting ok groups and was wondering if a kisser button would help my accuracy?

2. scottygrape

scottygrape Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    yes because it helps you bring the string to the exact same spot every time so you can see through the peep sight more consistently. You will be a lot more of a consistent shooter

3. palmettoyounggun

palmettoyounggun Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the quick reply i will be going to get one soon.

4. BigRedOak

BigRedOak Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I agree. The more points of consistency you have, the better your accuracy will be.

When I have my bow at full draw, my kisser button is touching the right corner of my mouth, the string above the kisser botton is touching the tip of my nose, the gap between my first and second knuckle on my right hand is touching the rim of my ear, and my eye is of course looking through the peep sight. So all I have to do is make sure I am not torquing the bow, make sure I am not flinching when I pull the release, and make sure I have a good follow through. Those are the basics of shooting accurately.

5. Born2Hunt

Born2Hunt Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I agree

Sent from my SCH-R530U using Tapatalk 2

6. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I agree with the above, but a kisser button isn't necessarily needed or more accurately, required.

Anything you can do that increases consistency is the key. I use my anchor pt, string touching my nose, peep and site as key consistency checkpoints with my compounds.

But double check your grip (not too tight, where your knuckle are pointed, not torquing) and how you hold the bow itself as the grip can add inconsistencies to your shooting.