What kind of bow is this?

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Barrett50cal, Dec 23, 2016.

1. Barrett50cal

Barrett50cal Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I have no experience with archery or bow hunting and a friend gave me an old bow of his for free. I'm eager to learn more about it but everything I have seen regarding the types of compound bows available doesn't seem to apply to what I have. Can someone tell me what kind of bow this is? There are no markings of any kind and it doesn't seem to be set up the same way that other compound bows that I've seen. Is this just a really old bow? Any help would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. J.H.

J.H. Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    yes, that is a really old bow. I really can't say what brand or model, but steel cables and four wheels puts it in the '80s i'm guessing. ( maybe older)

3. Invisible man

Invisible man Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Maybe an old Oneida

4. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
  5. Barrett50cal

Barrett50cal Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the input. I had a feeling it was old (It was free after all)..But it shouldn't be an issue for me to use since I'm just starting out, should it? I'm really just looking to use it for target shooting and don't plan to hunt with it...I know there have been tech upgrades over the years which could provide some value but I'd rather not spend the money just yet.

6. macsolocam

macsolocam Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Just depends if it fits you or not, to measure your draw length take your finger tip to finger tip wingspan and divide it by 2.5

Then if you want to know the draw length of the bow since there is no markings just nock an arrow and draw it back as far as you can/as far as cams will allow, (probably will feel kinda spongy) and have a buddy sharpie the arrow where it hovers over the grip....