What is the bare minimal?

Discussion in 'Game Processing, Recipes & Cooking' started by CToutdoorsman, Jun 14, 2017.

1. CToutdoorsman

CToutdoorsman Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    I have always wanted to processes my own deer but never had the ability to do it this last season I learned how to do it from a buddy and I differently think after a while it pay for itself. So if i just make steaks burger and the straps and tenderloin what is the minimal equipment I need?
    I figured a meat grinder
    and a cool place to keep my deer.
    I may sound like a fool for thinking that all I need but it is because i am brand new to processing my own deer.

2. Blarney22

Blarney22 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Tribeck and CToutdoorsman like this.
  3. Shocker99

Shocker99 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Good set of blades. I prefer Victorinox. Large cutting board as mentioned above. Grinder 3/4 hp or above preferred if can't afford then whatever you can get. Meat totes are nice and a fridge to keep the tubs of meat in as you're working. The more you get into it and finances allow the more you'll get. The best 2 purchases I made was a 20lb electric stuffer and a 50 lb meat mixer that hooks to a 3/4 hp grinder. It's one of those things you learn as you go

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

CToutdoorsman and copperhead like this.
  4. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I do all my own processing. So thinking this through you really don't need a lot. But here is what I do:

You have to skin the animal. This requires a good sharp knife.

A gambrel is helpful but not required. You can use the ground or a table to skin and move the animal around on the hide. The idea is keeping the meat clean and debris free.