Wanting to get into hunting with a recurve bow

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Brian Sanchez-Fishback, Oct 19, 2021.

1. Brian Sanchez-Fishback

Brian Sanchez-Fishback Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey!
    I am a relatively new hunter and wanting to get into bowhunting to take advantage of future bowhunting seasons down the road and would appreciate some advice on how I can get started. I would like to start learning on a traditional bow just for purely personal preference reasons but I have no archery experience whatsoever. In the future I would mostly be hunting western small and big game.

2. jgaudiojr

jgaudiojr Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    YouTube is your friend. You will, initially, gain much more from YouTube than anywhere else, IMO. There is nothing wrong with used gear. Go slow. Decide if you actually like before you burn your wallet up with large purchases. Hunting is a great hobby and lifestyle. Start with some YouTube videos. Find out what you need. Talk to buddies and see if they have some gear you can borrow for a season. That should start you down the right path.

JeffKo likes this.
  3. Brian Sanchez-Fishback

Dislikes Received:
    Yeah youtube has been a HUGE help when I was looking for small game stuff just using firearms.

4. Sean Card

Sean Card Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Take a look at your state traditional bowhunting organization, Compton’s, and Professional Bowhunter Society.

As useful as YouTube and forums can be: I feel like getting a mentor can accelerate the learning curve in half. What has taken me ten years I could probably get someone going in 3-5 years easily with consistent meeting up.

And in my opinion: talk to people who were hot and cold as far as shooting skills and are driving tacks now. You learn more from struggling, at least shooting instinctly. So many are going to gap and string walking now it seens.

5. Vabowman

Vabowman Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: