Video settings for Sony a5100

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by mylsuhat, Oct 2, 2018.

1. mylsuhat

mylsuhat Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Hey guys, this Friday marks the beginning of my filming with my Sony a5100. I have the E PZ 18-105mm f/4.0 G OSS Power Zoom Lens and 50mm f/1.8 Optical Lens.

I have been experimenting with the photography side and truly loving it but I wanted some input on video settings. I know the camera has a "smart video" setting where it adjusts all of the settings needed and then you can pick aperture or shutter priority.

What settings do yall recommend? Anything better for early mornings / late evenings vs normal daylight?

I have a remote on the way, hope it comes in on Thursday.

Some of the pics I've taken so far. I'm very new to this but eager to learn and get better.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Fitz and DEC like this.
  2. Creeks

Creeks Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    You don't look new to me, I used to do photography, But I shot with a Canon Mark IV.....To me, your using thirds and etc...Only thing I see is I might straighten the background mtns. on the deer pic....
    Creeks

3. mylsuhat

mylsuhat Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I appreciate that. I have been watching a lot of "How To's" on YouTube and practicing a lot. I've always been intrigued by it but never had the equipment outside of my phone to capture images like I wanted to

4. DEC

DEC Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: