Turkey Decoy??

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by digio40, Feb 20, 2013.

1. digio40

digio40 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm looking to purchase an Avian LCD hen decoy but cant decide which would be the best to get. I plan on using a single hen set-up, would a feeder or a breeder be the best choice for this set-up?

2. ohiobowhunter77

ohiobowhunter77 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    i am pretty new to turkey hunting, and only do it with a bow...but if it were me(again rookie turkey hunter) i think a breeder would be good for early spring...but not sure how well it would work in fall season(if you have one...), and i dont know how well a feeder would work over a breeder in the spring....im sure it would still work though....interesting question and i am looking forward to hear from the turkey vets in here!!!

3. JGD

JGD Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    My limited experience has been that a feeder is more visible and a good attractor. A breeder is attractive once the tom gets close enough to see it. I've had the best luck with a tom (strutting or not) and at least one hen decoy. Also, I've had good luck with collapsable, fold up decoy that are not expensive. Hope this helps.

4. wetley49

wetley49 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I use 2, a standing hen and a feeder. Seems to work pretty well the past couple of seasons

5. Kansasbuck

Kansasbuck Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I would also go with a feeder if you only plan to use just one. Feeder will be more visible, and feeding is always a nice content looking pose too.

6. Jkano14

Jkano14 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    The feeder is the way to go, a more relaxed posed, but either Zink decoy are great. I use the feeder and had a jake standing on top of it last year trying to breed it. I run two hens with a strutter, but the feeder by itself would work fine.

7. Jdicenhour

Jdicenhour Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: