Treestand suggestion for those in the market, Ol'man, one of the best.

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Rob / PA, Oct 25, 2008.

1. Rob / PA

Rob / PA Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I've been climbing trees for nearly 25 years with a variety of treestands from homemade and bare hugging trees to the one of the finest I feel is on the market.

When I first bought my first Ol'man I owned a Loggy Bayou. Although effective, it scared the bejezzus out of me on more than one occasion. When my ex wife wanted to get into hunting I used to hang a stand with screw ins for her and then go climb a tree with my Loggy. It was a pain in the ass so I searched for a suitable tree stand that she (4'11, 110lbs) could carry and use on her own. I first bought a Summit. Not only did it pack bad IMO, she couldn't use it in a tree. It was too cumbersome and when I tried it, I like it less than my Loggy. It was comfortable I'll give ya that but with the hanging seat, it put the bar too high and often inhibited shooting on close shots.

I then sold the Summit and bought an Ol'man for her. Not only did she use it with ease, I found it to be one of the easier most packable quiet tree stands I've ever used. When she didn't hunt, I left my Loggy at home and took her Ol'man. Soon, I bought a second Ol'man and put my Loggy away for use as a loc on only.

I've now used my Ol'man stand for nearly 10 years or more. Until I find a better treestand, I will continue to use it. I want the best and I don't hesitate to buy the best when I find it. For those in the market, don't miss out on the Ol'man before you buy more expensive ones.

Weight, the steel ones are not the lightest on the market. I don't find weight a factor, like I said, that little girl could carry and use it with ease BUT if you want light, it's hard to find a lighter one than the Ol'man Pro at 17lbs.