Tree stand help.

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Sfsapper, Aug 6, 2017.

1. Sfsapper

Sfsapper Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So as I am new to bow hunting and virginia, I do not have an area I can use for hunting all year so I'm probably only going to be able to hunt an area for 1 to 3 days or so. So I'm not sure which stand to choose. I know its not ideal to set up a stand in the am and take it down at the end of the day or the end of 3 days but this year I really don't have a choice. I have been looking at the 2 person ladder stands for my son and I since he is a first time hunter but I worry about setting this up in the am and not seeing anything because the deer heard us setting up a stand at 6 am. They are much quieter from what I heard than a climbing stand. Does anyone have any suggestions?
    Thank you

Last edited: Aug 6, 2017
  2. Fitz

Fitz Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    A run and gun type of setup with a hang-on and climbing sticks should work great for you. I've often set-up, hunted and taken down all in a morning or afternoon. With practice you can be safe, quiet and fast. I use a Lone Wolf Assault and sticks for that kind of hunting, but there are a ton of stand and stick combos out there that will work for you.

Archie45 likes this.
  3. parkersdad

parkersdad Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm from Virginia originally as well and hunt there still some. In my opinion buy a summit climber as all of the trees in your area will work with a climbing stand. I hunt North Carolina and 95% of the places here climbers will work. You should have some public land around you to access as well

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

4. Sfsapper

Sfsapper Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So would you all say that a ladder stand is out of the question. I am looking at the 2 person stand so that my son who is a first time hunter can be seated next to me and I don't have to worry about him climbing into his own stand just yet