trailcam checking

Discussion in 'Trail Cameras' started by DVO, Apr 28, 2014.

  1. DVO

    DVO Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Posts:
    278
    Likes Received:
    28
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pines
    Does anyone use a tablet to check their cameras?
    I got a Samsung 7" tablet last summer to upload my pictures from the SD card to the tablet in the field. The reason was I was sick of bringing my laptop out to do it. I like to check at least some of the pictures while at the camera to make sure I don't need to adjust anything or pull the camera since Im not getting any good pictures before I leave it again.

    Well I wasn't happy with how slow it took to transfer pictures so I went back to my laptop.

    Does anyone use a tablet and if so what brand and model do you use? It sure would be nice to have something a little easier to haul around in the woods that will download the pictures fast. I do have a Moultire picture viewer as well and thats too slow for me as well. Strictly looking for opinions on tablets.
     
  2. Fitz

    Fitz Legendary Woodsman

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Posts:
    19,215
    Likes Received:
    447
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ely, MN
    I always swap cards. It's faster so I'm in and out as quickly as possible. If I view whats on the cards while I'm in the woods, on the water, or in my stand; I use my iphone. It's slower than my computer, but works fast enough for me. Videos can be an issue though.
     
  3. pastorjim08

    pastorjim08 Legendary Woodsman

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    10,994
    Likes Received:
    9,855
    Dislikes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Indiana
    I too just swap cards. I have a small card reader I carry in my pack but I only use it to view cards if I've checked them on the way to my stand.

    Blessings.........Pastorjim
     
  4. greatwhitehunter3

    greatwhitehunter3 Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Posts:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    2,747
    Dislikes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Also swap cards. If I want to check camera position, I use a digital camera. Takes two seconds to figure out if your angle is correct.
     
  5. ChuckC

    ChuckC Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    8
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. MI to live and S.E. OH to bowhunt!
    Swap cards and use the viewer in most cameras to double check things. That or make note of something the next time I'm back at the camera again to make an adjustment.
     
  6. frenchbritt123

    frenchbritt123 Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Posts:
    4,708
    Likes Received:
    159
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Dedicated laptop.
     
  7. Ky Bob

    Ky Bob Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    4
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    I swap cards out also.
     
  8. Spear

    Spear Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    4,018
    Likes Received:
    83
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I need new cameras that aren't battery hogs before I even think about swapping cards. My batteries only last about 4 weeks which is a joke, my cards don't even fill up in that amount of time. I'm just conflicted on which cameras to buy...
     
  9. gutone4me

    gutone4me Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    7,881
    Likes Received:
    31
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe County WI
    Card swapper here also.
     
  10. Slugger

    Slugger Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Posts:
    8,007
    Likes Received:
    5,202
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern NC
    I have always just swapped cards due to it being so easy. Never tried anything else.
     
  11. airenlow

    airenlow Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Posts:
    2,861
    Likes Received:
    4,758
    Dislikes Received:
    4
    Location:
    SW Ohio
  12. csb

    csb Newb

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    I suppose it all depends on how long the TC has been soaking. The longer the soak, the more pics. I would think it all comes down to how long you want to stand checking pics. I also just swap.
     
  13. jrk_indle84

    jrk_indle84 Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Posts:
    6,231
    Likes Received:
    3,442
    Dislikes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Adams co, IL
    Just swap cards like everybody else. I do normally have my camcorder with me and I'll occasionally stick card in that and check in field.
     
  14. DVO

    DVO Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Posts:
    278
    Likes Received:
    28
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pines
    Thanks for the reply’s guys. Extra SD cards are cheaper than a tablet anyway. I have done the whole swap the card thing and I’m not a big fan of it. That’s why I thought I would ask. I hunt a massive area of public land with a 5+ mile drive between cameras sometimes on roads that should be called ATV trails and not roads. So when I was doing the swap I only had enough SD cards for my 7 cameras +1 extra and would have to transfer the pictures before the next camera. It’s also the only time when I would have issues with cameras. If I used the same SD card in the same camera it seems to always work but a few times I have swapped a card and left for 2-3 weeks and come back to 0 pictures but the camera is on and taking pictures. Just not recording them to the card.

    I do appreciate the advice!
     
  15. ChuckC

    ChuckC Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Posts:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    8
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. MI to live and S.E. OH to bowhunt!
    It sounds like you have a few different brands of cameras then? I have seen those problems with my buddy's Moultrie and another brand but have never had the problem with the Coverts I am running. Heck, when he would have problems with a certain card they ALWAYS worked in the Covert.
     
  16. gutone4me

    gutone4me Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Posts:
    7,881
    Likes Received:
    31
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monroe County WI
    If your running more than 1 brand of trail camera I suggest getting 2 sd cards for each camera and labeling each camera and a couple cards to match and only use those cards in that camera. That will cure your sd card issues.
     
  17. johnwb82

    johnwb82 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Posts:
    458
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Crystal Lake, IL
    Try the Duracell Procell
     
  18. DVO

    DVO Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Posts:
    278
    Likes Received:
    28
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pines
    Nope all Moultrie. I could have had an issue trying to use them in my Canon camera then putting them back in the Moultrie maybe? Just a guess, Im not sure on that.
     
  19. greatwhitehunter3

    greatwhitehunter3 Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Posts:
    6,270
    Likes Received:
    2,747
    Dislikes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Maybe? I have Moultries and put cards into digital camera every so often during the fall and have never had a problem.
     
  20. Buckeye1979

    Buckeye1979 Newb

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Buckeye State
    Its easier and alot faster for me to just swap cards when i go to check them. In and out as fast as possible

     

Share This Page