Trail Camera Height??

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Flatstatehunter, Jul 17, 2017.

1. Flatstatehunter

Flatstatehunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    The beginning of this year I went to one of the only private places I have permission to hunt with the notion of pulling my camera down I had been running there for 6 months, only to find it had been stolen. The area was close to a local party area for college kids and I assume they had trespassed and seen the camera and took it based on previous trash we have seen dumped on the property. Landowner felt bad ad offered to buy a new one but I insisted he purchase gates and let me spend a weekend putting them up.

Sorry for the long back story. I just got a new camera up but mounted it at 11 foot to hopefully discourage theft.

Can anyone provide pictures that were taken with a setup like mine (high placement in narrow path about 15 yards wide)?

2. alfarah50

alfarah50 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I placed my cameras up high this year and I am happy so far. Below are a few pics of a cell cam over a scrape that gets vistited frequently. The cam wont send HD pics to my phone, I can only view HD pics once I pull the card but as far as pic quality goes I am happy. I get a wider and larger field of view by setting the cam high (10ft) on a downward angle. You may not be able to count every point but you def can see where they are coming from and going to this way. 7-15 ACE AT SCRAPE.png 7-15 ace at scrapeee.png 7-15 ace scrapee.png

3. Flatstatehunter

Dislikes Received:
    @alfarah50 I appreciate the pics they look good. I'm not to worried about about counting points but monitoring deer traffic like you said. How far is the bait pile from the tree you have the camera in?

4. alfarah50

alfarah50 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    About 5-6 yards

5. Justin

Justin Administrator

Dislikes Received: