Thoughts on rangefinder sights.

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Styledog, Feb 12, 2019.

1. Styledog

Styledog Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm interested to know everyone's thoughts on the rangefinder sights on the market ?
    (Garmin Xero, IQ laser sight, Burris sight)

Do you like or dislike this concept?
    Do the detract from the skill of hunting or is the main skill the stalking.

I have no idea the general feeling and as I'm new to bowhunting, I am hungry for information from you experienced hunters out there.

Sent from my SM-N950F using Bowhunting.com Forums mobile app

2. dnoodles

dnoodles Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I am hearing that in the woods, they often give false readings b/c they reflect off branches, leaves, etc.
    Also, while I do have some tech on my bow; with the exception of a rheostat which I almost never use it's all mechanical. And those rheostats have failed me more than once.

Based on that and life in general; I just don't trust electronics in the woods. Certainly not something as vital as my sights.

StanfillKY and Styledog like this.
  3. Justin

Justin Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    I personally think they're really cool and look forward to seeing what sort of advancements they make in the future to continue improving them. Both in terms of functionality as well as size and pricing. Right now they're simply too far out of most people's price range and still bring some of that fear of not working when you need it. Although most of them have some sort of manual fallback in the event of a problem so the fear that you won't be able to shoot at all is relatively unfounded.