The story of R2G2

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by creed1, Oct 29, 2018.

1. creed1

creed1 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Last summer I sold my home and 80 acres in what was prime hunting land that I had been managing for the last 7 years to be closer to my mom and my wives parents. It was so hard to start over. Our new home came with 10 acres and surrounding the 10 acres is some really nice hardwood oak ridges and a nasty river bottom that the farmer who owned them had zero use for, so he sold me 60 acres of again some pretty nice hunting land. The very first card pull of the very first camera I put out had a very nice looking 3 year old with split G2s and I immediately dubbed him R2G2 . I got a lot of pictures of him from July until after the shotgun season ended here in November, and then he disappeared. I was nervous but optimistic he made it through. Fast forward to July 2018 and I've got cams that have been out for a few months and I'm jacked to see if he made it, came back, and what he might have turned into. My first time checking cams he wasn't on any of them, so I waited another month, and when I went back in early August he was back, and packed on quite a few inches from the year before. He split his left side G2 so deep it palmated like a damn moose paddle. This deer that already had my attention now became an obsession. He completely consumed my thoughts and I spent all of my free time trying to figure out how I was going to harvest this deer. I continued to monitor him on cams and basically did everything I could to stay out of his area. I hunted some permission spots, my inlaws, and I even spent some time on public land, to keep me from hunting the spots where I knew this guy was living until the time was right. My first sit to get after this guy was on a marshy bottom that surrounds a 5 acre oak island where I got a lot of my pictures of ol' R2. The weather forecast for the day called for a NW wind and my quick check at home seem