Tanning my first deer hide, have some ???'s

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by KyleLewis, Dec 5, 2012.

1. KyleLewis

KyleLewis Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    This is my first time tanning a hide. Im not sure what style of tanning I want. Well I know what I want but I'm confused to what it's called. I want a soft plyable hide with the fur on. I think it's called brain tanning but I'm not sure. Seems like alot of people use the term incorrect or I am just not getting it. lol Anyway I fleshed the hide and put it in my freezer. I purchased some non-iodized salt but haven't salted it yet because I've found so many different methods online, some use salt, borax, Krowtann and other solutions. None of the instructions really specify what the end result will be. So I figured I'd ask you guys. Anyone ever do this and how'd it come out? I am leaning towards getting a solution at Cabelas that is about $20 and is supposedly quick and easy but I'm not even sure what the final product will be with that. Like I said I want a soft hide with the fur on.

2. Indiana Hunter

Indiana Hunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    If you look online there are lots of tanneries that can do it for around 50 dollars. That is what I did with my first doe kill.

I understand you wanting to do it yourself, but my thoughts were that it was my first whitetail ever and I wanted to have a nice fur that will last for a long time. I didn't trust myself to do it.

I think total cost for me was around 60 dollars and it turned out awesome. Just a thought and congrats on your first!

3. KyleLewis

KyleLewis Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    thanks

4. tacklebox

tacklebox Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: