"Stupid Loop" type you use and why?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Stikman, Dec 28, 2011.

1. Stikman

Stikman Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    With the shorter axle to axle bows in abundance across the market today the string loop, or "stupid loop" as we call it (old term from years ago) has become a necessity to keep our arrows knocked to our strings. I've been using tie on loops for about 10 years. I see they make metallic type loops that clamp on to your string to serve the same purpose as a tie on version. I haven't had any issues with my tie on loops, but just curious if anyone uses a metallic version(like the T.R.U. Nok, or the Ultra-Nok XL). Are there draw backs to either type(metallic or rope style) of release loop, other than the obvious speed loss? Do the metallic versions make noise against caliper style jaws? Or do you need to shoot a rope release to use a metallic release loop?

2. abates352

abates352 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    i use to use one, but did not like it. it was noisy with my caliper release, and i had to cut the back portion of my nocks off so there was enough room in the loop for my release. i switched to string loop, and havent looked back.

3. Hoythews71

Hoythews71 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Same here. The noise was the big factor for me. A release clanking off a metal loop in the still of winter really wakes the woods up!

4. Muzzy Man

Muzzy Man Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I had trouble with the D-Ring not releasing from a single caliper release. I use a Scott release. The noise didn't seem to be bad but not releasing the string was impossibly unpredictable and potentially dangerous. A double caliper may work fine but the string works just fine with me.

5. Justin

Justin Administrator

Dislikes Received: