Spring/Summer food plot

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by okie ben, May 7, 2013.

1. okie ben

okie ben Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Im new to planting food plots. About a month ago I planted a 1/4 plot of soybeans, lab-lab, cowpeas, oats, alfalfa, winter peas, and forage rape. When should i till and plant my fall plot, or should I wait to replant next spring?

2. Fuzz_27

Fuzz_27 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I may just be confused but your already ready to plant your fall plot? Did your spring/summer one even come up yet?

I know that my fall one isnt bein planted till early to mid August as i just now planted my spring/summer plot.
    Like i said im kind of confused on what your asking

3. okie ben

okie ben Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Sorry about the confusion....The plot is coming up great. The oats are about 8 inches high and soy beans about 6. The other seeds are just barley coming out. Was wondering when it came time to plant fall plots, if I should disk up and plant (if so when), or should I let the mixture I planted stay through out the fall and winter.

4. Fuzz_27

Dislikes Received:
    Im no professional but id say wait till you were ready to plant your fall plot an till all of it under. Do some seedbed prep an then plant your fall plot giving it time to be able to be ready for your season opener.

If im wrong, please someone correct me. Im new to the whole food plot game myself!

5. okie ben

okie ben Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the input.

6. jake_

jake_ Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Many different options when it comes to food plotting.
    That is alot of different things going on in one plot. Which is a good thing. I personally would wait till end of July and see what it does and make your decision and here is why-