so i want to get into traditional archery

Discussion in 'Traditional Archery' started by the mechanic, Nov 7, 2010.

1. the mechanic

the mechanic Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    and i want to know what some affordable accesories i can get are. and more importantly, whats needed. im new to archery in general, and i bought a bear archery grizzly 55# from gander mountain less than a year ago and have yet to even shoot it. i dont have arrows, i dont have broadheads, but i do have a shooting tab(yay).

what brand of arrows would you suggest, and also, what do the numbers on them mean?

what kind of broadheads and weights would you suggest?

so on and so forth...

thanks in advance.

2. bigcountry

bigcountry Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I would start with 2018's eastons for a 55lbs grizzly. Little heavy for a beginner. I would try to find a cheap 40lb bow to start. I myself wouldn't worry about bh's for another year. Thats just me. All two blades like magnus works well.

3. the mechanic

Dislikes Received:
    the reason i went with the 55# was my compound is 60#. and i can shoot that reasonably well, so i figured 55# would be close enough, especially with no let off. i havent been shooting all that long, maybe a total of 8-10 months out of the last 2 years... my wife agreed to give me some help shooting it, as shes a pretty good bowhunter herself. and it only took me 2 years of being with her(one year married) to figure that out. and what does 2018 mean?

thanks for the reply.

4. Deinhardt

Deinhardt Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    First off, You need to find out your draw length. Once you find that out, Here is a link to find out what arrow you need about.

http://www.eastonarchery.com/products/selection