Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Shooting a Recurve and a Compound Bow

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Romy, Dec 15, 2022.

1. Romy

Romy Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am just starting out with archery. I am preparing to be able to archery hunt deer next season.

Can I use the same arrows for both bows. My draw length is 25".

I have the following:

- Blackout Intrigue Compound (New) set at 43# for my 25" Draw using a Whisker Biscuit rest

and

- Martin Jaguar (used / new string) @ 28" #40, 60", using a arrow rest similar to "Saunders Archery Express Rest". I tested the draw using a scale @25" draw, I got 34#

The Martin came with Gold Tip Expedition 5575 arrows @ 31"; as near as I can figure, these have a .400 spine.

Can I use these arrows with both bows for practice purposes?

I cut one arrow down to 27" just to see how it feels. From what I understand this would change the spine "stiffness". Is there a way to figure the spine strength / stiffness when an arrow is shortened?

2. Mod-it

Mod-it Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Your info on the spine of Gold Tip 5575 arrows is correct, they are a 400 spine.

At your stated draw length and poundage, a 400 spine arrow is considered too stiff of a spine for your setup. I only looked at a compound bow spine chart, but a 600 spine arrow is ideal for your current specs. With that being said, an overspined arrow is fine to use for practice purposes, there are no safety concerns like if an arrow was way underspined.
    Since the 5575's are so stiff for your setup they may fly better if you leave them at their full length of 31". The shorter you cut an arrow the "stiffer" it acts. In a situation where the spine is too stiff, the following may help weaken the spine: leaving the arrows full length, increasing bow draw weight, adding tip weight to the arrow (front of arrow).