Scent Killers/Scent Eliminators/Scent Covers. Do they work?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by MichiHunter, Oct 6, 2014.

1. MichiHunter

MichiHunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I don't want to start a feud, and I certainly don't want to tick off any sponsors of the site, but can we have a logical discussion of whether or not Scent Eliminators actually work. In my mind, I've been questioning this for quite awhile, and I simply can't see how they work. That being said, I'm not a scientist, I'm not a professional researcher, I simply don't understand how these products can possibly work. Sure, they may work on humans, but deer?

I've read article after article trying to make a determination for myself, I've tried to find unbiased research and simply can't. Can someone show me otherwise? Can you show me a test, taken from an independent source stating that these products work? I'm not talking about your personal experience, I mean a legitimate study on the issue.

I came across this article in my latest search, and when you read the analogies that they use (on a dog) and knowing that a deer smells considerably better than the best bloodhound, how can these products work?

I'm falling under the belief that they're snake oil.

Here's an interesting article marveling at a dogs ability to smell.

NOVA | Dogs' Dazzling Sense of Smell

Here's a snippet. (remember deer sense of smell is considerably better than a dog)

The nose of a whitetail deer has up to 297 million olfactory receptors, dogs have 220 million with humans limiting out with just five million.