Researching Bow Hunting. Completely Clueless!

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by CluelessWriter, Nov 7, 2013.

1. CluelessWriter

CluelessWriter Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi there,

I am a fiction writer with absolutely no experience with bows or bow hunting whatsoever. I am writing a character that is well accustomed to hunting with a bow. I'm sure you can see my dilemma.

I was wondering if anyone could help me look slightly less ignorant than I am by answering a few questions. Also, if you can think of anything I've not addressed, please, for the love of all that is sacred and holy - tell me. Any information you might have will be appreciated.

First, a little background of the situation so you know what I need - the character lives alone, off the 'grid' and has done so all his adult life. The story takes place in sometime past - it's a fantasy (think medieval Europe). So the equipment/techniques he uses have to be somewhat archaic. He will know how to make a bow, make the arrows, and has recently acquired a new fangled crossbow. He has a dog that usually accompanies him on hunting forays (IF that is a viable addition for deer hunting - suggestions about that appreciated).

I need to know things like tracking procedures - he is currently hunting deer in a forested area. I need to know what kind of bow would be best for this, (if you can point me in the direction of a youtube video or an image gallery of the suitable equipment, that would be awesome). I need to know what to do after a deer is caught - what do you do in the field, what do you do when you get back? If it's at all feasible, I'd like to have the character able to use the hides too, so what is the most simple procedure for that. What do you do if your string breaks in the field - how would you replace it, what would you make a new one out of if you needed to in a pinch?