Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Red Dot or Crosshair Scope

Discussion in 'Crossbows' started by Ky Bob, Aug 31, 2011.

1. Ky Bob

Ky Bob Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I currently have the three dot illuminated scope that came with my Tenpoint but I'm thinking a crosshair type scope might be better. While hunting you would either keep the scope turned on or switch it on if you saw something coming which would create more movement. What's your thoughts? Which do you prefer the dot scope or crosshair? This will be my first year hunting with a crossbow.

2. tdelliott

tdelliott Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Ky Bob
    I've been using a cross bow for 4 years due to some shoulder issues. Your 3 dot is all you need for a 20 to 30 yard shot. In my opinion a scope on a cross bow is over kill. You might want to go to Bass Pro Shop or Gander Mountain and shoot a crossbow with a scope to compare with your red dot.
    Godd luck and happy hunting.

3. Ky Bob

Dislikes Received:

Well the issue is do I keep it turned on as long as I'm hunting or risk more movement by leaving it off and then having to turn it on when deer come in. My dot scope has no crosshairs or anything when it's turned off. They should have at least put crosshairs of some kind in the scope.

4. schweges89

schweges89 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    With my three dot red dot I keep it off until I see the deer or at least hear them. Then I ever so gently turn it on whatever brightness I need. I havent had a problem spooking them at all. But thats just my preference. My sight doesnt make a noise when I turn it on or change the settings but some might.

Sent from my DROID X2 using Tapatalk

5. blugrass

blugrass Newb

Dislikes Received:
    red dot site