Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

rack wax..

Discussion in 'Shed Hunting' started by benjamer87, Mar 13, 2011.

1. benjamer87

benjamer87 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    i've began training my german shephard to find sheds and read an article about tom dokkens training and some of his products that help along the training process. i seen he sells a product called rack wax, which is supposed to imitate a smell that comes from the base of a freshly fallen antler. just wondering if anyone of you guys has ever used the stuff! thanks and happy hunting!

2. kansasjosh

kansasjosh Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Benny - I have never heard of that! I am no expert at antler dogs by any means but I have been training my lab since we brought him home almost 2 years ago. I have done a lot of reading and also attended a very good seminar by one of the most respected antler dog trainers in the business Roger Sigler.
    So all of that being said, I don't think that scent that you are talking about has that much to do with it. If that were the case antler dogs would only find fresh antlers when they actually find all kinds. In fact the question was asked at the seminar I went to and their opinion was that old antlers are actually easier for the dogs to find and give off more scent than fresh drops.
    The main thing to concentrate on in the beginning of training is to make the antler the above all favorite thing in the dogs world. Once they are hooked on antlers their nose and hunting instinct will take over. For instance, if I let my pup out of the pen with an antler in my hand he will try to tackle me to get it. Also I can throw a ball, frisbie, etc. and an antler out at the same time and he will always go get the antler. They have to absolutely love antlers more than anything.