QAD ultrarest problems

Discussion in 'Equipment Reviews' started by successful failure, Nov 16, 2016.

  1. successful failure

    successful failure Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Texas
    I went to my local bow shop with my new bow to rig it out and the first thing I was going to buy was a QAD ultrarest. The guys at the bow shop did not recommend the QAD ultrarest because they said they had problems with them because they were not made for dual cam bows and showed me another drop away that connects to the limb. Has anyone else heard about this problem or are they just trying to get me to buy a rest from them
     
  2. choppersk61

    choppersk61 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    I got two...

    One on a single cam Bear Anarchy and the other one on my son's bow a Hoyt with dual cam.

    Never had any issues with either of them.


    ...
     
  3. kurveball18

    kurveball18 Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    93
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I would go to a different archery shop because they obviously have no clue what they are talking about.
     
  4. rustednuts

    rustednuts Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    96
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    This seems fishy, I'd find another shop
     
  5. kurveball18

    kurveball18 Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Posts:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    93
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Agreed, If someone told me that in a shop I'd be walking out never to return.

    For the OP - The QAD ultrarest and the NAP Apache rests are 2 of the most popular rests on the market.
     
  6. A5BLASTER

    A5BLASTER Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Posts:
    92
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Zwolle, Louisiana
    I have the qad hunter it's the cheapest they make and I haven't had a single problem with mine on my dual cam bow.
     
  7. ash d

    ash d Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Posts:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    3,015
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Took the qad off mine. Something didn't seem right. Might just have been operator error. I had it adjusted a couple times. Not sure if it wasn't dropping fast enough but once in awhile I would hear a click from it when I shot and my arrow would always be hi on the target. Went back to whisker biscuit and no more issues. Shooting 31" btx
     
  8. choppersk61

    choppersk61 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Posts:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    That happens when they are poorly adjusted...

    So yes, operator error !
     
  9. Jeremy/PA

    Jeremy/PA Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2015
    Posts:
    173
    Likes Received:
    15
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Agreed. New shop time. I have one on my Halon and it's fine.
     
  10. successful failure

    successful failure Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Texas
    I have one on my dual cam pse and it shoots fine. I figured they were just trying to sale me a product with a bigger profit margin
     
  11. Skywalker

    Skywalker Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    6,850
    Likes Received:
    806
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NW Missouri
    Yeah, The other rest was probably easier to install and set up or something. Sounds like the guy at bow shop was either being lazy or was going to make a couple extra bucks if they sold the other rest.
     
  12. SouthDakotaHunter

    SouthDakotaHunter Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Posts:
    1,369
    Likes Received:
    28
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midwest
    I've setup QAD's on every cam style bow imaginable - including tons of dual cam style bows... The only issues I've ever ran into are from shops like these guys that don't know how to set them up properly...
     
  13. patches2565

    patches2565 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    383
    Likes Received:
    6
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    I had a QAD HDX on my faktor 34. I installed it myself but took my time to set it up. Worked like a champ. Since then I moved to a trophytaker, not because the QAD broke but I preferred the limb driven style. Also my bow shop swears by the QAD.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  14. Coop

    Coop Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    74
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springtown TX
    To me it sounds like that shop was just pushing their preferred brand. I have only used QAD's on dual cam bows and they perform excellent for me. My experience is not as extensive as others, but I have been using them since 2012. I have had them on 5 different personal bows in that time, and also on the bow I gave my nephew. All dual cam bows; 3 Bowtechs, 1 Hoyt (technically a hybrid I guess), and my current Elite. The bow I gave my nephew was also a Bowtech.
     
  15. copperhead

    copperhead Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    3,477
    Likes Received:
    699
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Apex, North Carolina
    Ok they are not completely off their rocker. Rest which are string activated can induce some issues with the timing of some cam systems. For example the original monsters and MR series I owned most of the time required "creep" tuning in order for the bow to tune properly. Can you tune a QAD with such a setup? Absolutely, but it does on some occasions does require a little more work.
     
  16. pitzer25

    pitzer25 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    275
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western PA
    i am new to tuning my bows but i have had qad on my last few bows and have never had any issues with them. it was on my bowtech destoyer for 6 yrs and i never had one issue. now i have one on my hoyt carbon defiant and no problems. im sure it will work fine but it might take some work. check with other shops and get their opinion
     
  17. successful failure

    successful failure Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Texas
    So once you get them setup properly and shoot a few arrows to check it there shouldn't be any problems?


    Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums
     

Share This Page