Q&A/tips: Beginning to hunt

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Locum51, Oct 23, 2012.

1. Locum51

Locum51 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    *To thwart those who might attempt to troll or get pissy and jack this thread: Yes, i did search and have read the majority of articles on this site.

I am starting to slowly acquire things to get me out hunting for the first time (next year); I have been shooting at my block target for two years to make sure that I perfect everything about my shot. My parents are supportive in the archery aspect of bowhunting, but not the hunting part of it. So i have virtually no help outside of target shooting.

My question is what/where do I begin other than purchasing the basics (stand, camo, tree harness & accs, bino's, RF, misc sprays & liquids)? In more detail, what tips do you have as far as where to hunt at first and how to eventually being able to hunt on leased or permissed land?

2. selfbros

selfbros Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Man that is a hard one. I beleive a majority of us bowhunters had someone to show us our first steps. You've got a good idea of what to do but now you just need to do it. The first thing I would do if I was you is find a place to hunt. go knocking on doors (in the Country) and explain you case. things to look for when appoaching a house.