PVC PIPE Deer Feeder

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by Mkwa Hunter, Sep 1, 2013.

1. Mkwa Hunter

Mkwa Hunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I went to my feeders tonight and found that through all the rain there was mildew in my feeder. Anyone have any solutions? All I could think is since this is my first year with these feeders, the deer haven't gotten use to them yet.

Should I wait to feed after the first feed?

2. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Are these the PVC type with a "tee" on the end that kind of points up? I've never used them but always thought they looked like they would collect water and mold easily.

I'm not sure what you are asking in that last line? If you meant "clean" them...I would go ahead and clean then now and get the mildew out of there....it's not healthy and is probably why deer aren't using them. I'd drill some small holes i nthe bottom to get rid of the moisture.

3. JMyers125

JMyers125 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Agree with CoveyMaster. Clean it now while its early. The action should pick up within a couple weeks. I dont think they will eat stuff with that mildew scent on it.

4. CoveyMaster

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks...no they won't eat poor quality feed if they can help it. I have dumped grain that got wet and molded in a grain cart and the deer picked around it and the few spots where there was good grain...they ate but the rest of it the birds and coons had to pick at or rot.

You can also try adding something to the corn to draw deer in when you refill it. There's a lot of stuff on the market to add in. I like C'mere deer but the liquid I use may not be a good idea in a PVC feeder. Lee and Tiffany Lakoski(sp?) have a product called sugar beet crush that deer seem to like. They put it in their corn in their feeder.

5. captain71

captain71 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: