Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Prusik Knot

Discussion in 'Equipment Reviews' started by chieffan, Aug 11, 2017.

1. chieffan

chieffan Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    All of the safety lines I have seen have the Prusik Knot with the tied end out where the carabiner is attached. Is there any reason why this knot cannot be next to the safety line and not interfere with the carabiner?

2. Planopurist

Planopurist Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm new to this knot, but I made 2 lineman's belts and 1 lifeline using this knot. My thoughts are that the part of the Prussik that wraps around the safety line needs to be able to tighten against the safety line as well as tighten against itself in order to prove the clinching action that makes the knot work. The part of the knot where the carabiner attaches is inconsequential to the knot working, as long as it stays intact and allows the carabiner to clip on and lock in place. I adjusted my Prussik so that the carabiner is below the double fisherman's knot.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Simplman and chieffan like this.
  3. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Planopurist is right. The child tighten around the rope to stop your fall. If the know was within the coils it may prevent them from grabbing the line. You could make the loop longer and tie the knot about an inch from the loops though.

chieffan and Planopurist like this.
  4. Planopurist

Dislikes Received:
    Let me know if you need a photo. I'm making another belt to leave up one of my ladder stands anyway.

chieffan likes this.
  5. chieffan

chieffan Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: