Property map, evaluate where you’d hunt.

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Mod-it, Oct 1, 2020.

1. Mod-it

Mod-it Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I’m not very good at reading maps for likely deer movement, bedding, etc.
    I’d love to hear some opinions / evaluations on what you map guys think.
    This first one is my place. The blue is the area I can hunt. Red is the main county road. Purple x is where I currently have a stand. The aqua x is a water tank fed from a year round spring. It is 106 acres. Below the water tank it drops down into a canyon with a year round creek. Steep and lots of thick spots.
    It is very rare to get any mature buck pics until the rut.
    B25C0B8E-42ED-4FC0-A84C-44F6AE0FC9FD.jpeg

2. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    3 questions :
    1) State? Idaho maybe?
    2) Muley or Whitetail?
    3) have a topo of the area in the Pic?

3. Mod-it

Dislikes Received:
    This next property is across the road from mine. It is owned by a couple Aunts and Uncles, 300 acres.
    Red is the main county road, blue is area that can be hunted, Aqua is a pond (near cabin) and two creeks, and orange is an area that my cousin gun hunts during the rut and I stay out of to not interfere. He sits in a ground blind (the orange x) during the chase phase on what we call the “back ridge”. Beyond that on the left side of the pic it drops down into another fairly deep canyon to a decent creek.
    2C98CECC-E389-4CD9-8AD9-D3A5ED579389.jpeg

4. Mod-it

Dislikes Received:
    Idaho yes.
    Whitetail only
    No but can look for one. What’s your favorite to use?

5. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Gotcha you had the coordinates Screenshot_20201001-121502_onX%20Hunt.jpeg

6. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I assume this has both properties Screenshot_20201001-121831_onX%20Hunt.jpeg

7. Mod-it

Dislikes Received: