Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

prepping for the season

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by mnbowhunter, Jun 6, 2009.

1. mnbowhunter

mnbowhunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    hey fellas

as most of you know im still very new to bowhunting. and i have been thinking alot latley about how exactly do you prep a stand properly? Im going out there next weekend to hopefully get everything finished

i know i have to cut some shooting lanes, thats a givin. but what else.
    i realized walking out to my licks, it is hard to get in there quietly, how can i help cut down the noise when walking into my stand?

should i cut out a trail to get in there? im guessing i should wear sent cover out there right?:confused:

(note) that all my areas are new and have never been hunted, so there is quite a bit of underbrush

so what im asking is...when you guys are in this type of situation. What are the major things you look at and make sure you have finished by season opener?

any help or littlereminder will greatly help

2. cfdjay

cfdjay Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I would cut the path to your stand now and wait til the fall to cut lanes. The woods will look totally different when the foliage is gone and you want to cut as little as possible. If you cut lanes now, you may cut too much and be way too open when to foliage comes off.

3. Siman/OH

Siman/OH Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Make sure to wear goves when doing all your cutting. Try to avoid touching your skin on an foliage, it leaves more human scent.

4. mnbowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    how much should i cut for my trail.? and how do you reduce noise when walking on it?

5. Ben/PA

Ben/PA Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: