Possible change in career, Advice please!!

Discussion in 'The Water Cooler' started by KyleLewis, Jan 1, 2013.

1. KyleLewis

KyleLewis Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I'm a carpenter working for a smaller contracting company in New England. We mostly do framing and finish work but have been doing a great deal of sheetrock. Basically a little bit of everything. I've been working with this company for 3 years. It's been a very tough 3 years too. I started working for these guys after working for an associate of the company's owner. He used to compete with my former employer but over time they kinda started using eachother and giving work to eachother. When one was slow I'd go work for the other.

So for some reason, one of the employees liked to give me crap about my methods and mocked my previous employer. I didn't like it but I respected him and his work so I learnt his methods and did things his way. Problem is his ways tend to be different than my bosses, so I am always upsetting one or the other. Both guys are impatient and short fused. I'm more of a calm dude, I work aggressively but I don't really get pissed about stuff at work. Just kinda deal with it. So there has always been this personality clash. They are both much older so everything about us is different. The business is in decline and weve been travelling further and further for work. I get a week paid vaca no benes and kinda treated like crap. I'm not a quitter so I've just stuck it out hoping to earn some respect.