Portable Generators

Discussion in 'Bowfishing' started by WI-Hunter, Jul 26, 2012.

1. WI-Hunter

WI-Hunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I need to get a portable generator for my bowfishing boat. Im planning to run 2-4 halogen lamps off of the generator. It needs to be some what light weight and compact. but im not sure how many watt generator I need. Wondering if any of you could give me an answer or tell me what size you use. much appreciated. :confused:

2. Rick James

Rick James Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I have no experience with bowfishing and generators, but I can say the Honda 2000i that we have at our camp up north is an amazing little piece of equipment. It's roughly the size of a mid size suitcase, weighs maybe 50ishlbs, will run for 8 hours on a gallon of gas, and it's super quiet. For $900 it's one of the best investments we have made at camp.

3. bloodcrick

bloodcrick Moderator/BHOD Prostaff

Dislikes Received:
    I just found one a guy at work had and sold to my Daughters boy friend. Its a small compact coleman 2500 watt. He runs 4 -400 watt lights off it and it does fine. It had an extra gas tank mounted on it for extended run times!

4. bowhunter1181

bowhunter1181 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    the honda 200 is awesome we hook it up to our 30ft camper gun hunting runs 10-12 hours with a gallon of gas

\

5. MechDoc

MechDoc Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have 2 Hondas. They are the quietest and most reliable generators I have ever used.

6. WI-Hunter

Dislikes Received:
    Thank you all for the input! It helps. I heard the Hondas were great generators and it sounds like most of you guys like em so I may have to look into them. Thanks again!

7. Christine

Christine Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: