Poor boy food plots

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by buckwild_09, Jul 30, 2014.

1. buckwild_09

buckwild_09 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    20140620_112329.jpg
    this is my first time planting this particular area. Started with lots and lots of grass and weeds about waist high. Took the lawn mower with the deck all the way up and went real slow. I did this after a week of dry weather to make sure it wouldn't clog up the mower. After the first pass, I dropped it down as low as possible and shot all the clippings to the outside of the mowed area which is close to 1/2 acre. Right after I applied Glyphosate which I mixed a little more concentrated then regular because of the well rooted grasses.
    20140712_131526.jpg
    Next, waited about a week and a half and let everything die off the best I could. I got the propane torch out and did a control burn. It is very important to do this on a day with no wind because things can get out of control fast especially in dry summer. I had my buddy help me to keep everything under control even though its not that big of an area.
    20140726_162321.jpg
    I decided to mow a little bit more after deciding to go with split plot of clover and brassicas. I didn't take a picture of the burnt area but if somebody did not even have a tiller i think the seed would have taken to it. The ground was bare and after a light rain I think you would be able to break the top layer of soil to seed.
    However, I wanted a nice seed bed. I grossly under estimated the amount of work this would take. And honestly I would not recommend this for the light hearted but I am crazy and did it anyways. Took me a total of 12 hours to do my 3 plots. The first pass was the hardest but luckily I didnt run into any rocks.
    20140727_115020.jpg