Newbie from Texas!

Discussion in 'Introductions - New User Forum' started by hmccall4, Jul 31, 2012.

1. hmccall4

hmccall4 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    My name is Alex and im from East Texas (Longview Area). I was just introduced into shooting a bow and am getting very interested into getting into the sport. I have little knowledge of subject and am looking for some advice. Where do I start when looking for a bow? I don't want to walk into a bow pro shop and get sold something that isn't suited for me so i'm trying to gain as much knowledge as possible before I take the leap. By reading a few other post i'm guessing first thing is to get measured for my draw length and then go from there. I don't want to fork out a ton of money, but could you guys recommend some good bows for a beginner.

Thanks in advanced.

2. jfergus7

jfergus7 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome to the site! Love the East Texas area. Used to live in Dallas and still sometimes miss it! As for suggestions you should get a ton of suggestions from everyone saying to buy this brand or that brand. Just figure out your budget then go try a few and let the bow pick you. All of them will do the job but it is all about feel for you since you are new and I am sure if you shoot a few you will know which one or ones you like best. Good luck!

3. hmccall4

hmccall4 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the response. I'm sure I have alot to learn about the sport but im excited about it. I have a archery pro shop about a mile from my house so I will stop by and ask some questions. I know I will have to try many bows out before I make a purchase but im kinda looking into the PSE Stinger 3g. Like I said I don't want to spend a ton of money starting out and the PSE Stinger 3g looks to be a nice starting point for me. But heck, trying out many bows may change my mind completely.

4. Oly44

Oly44 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    just curious whats your user name stand for/ mean?