Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

New to bowhunting (broadheads??)

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by mathewsdxttexas, Jan 2, 2009.

1. mathewsdxttexas

mathewsdxttexas Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey guys. I am new to bowhunting. I got a Mathews DXT for christmas and I am really excited about shooting it. When my dad got it, it was set up for someone that was 6'5" and I haven't gotten a chance to go back in and get it fitted for me due to the holidays. Just wondering what ya'll thought about broadheads.....mechanical or fixed??? Back in the day when my dad bowhunted all they had were fixed so he is all for them but I think the new technology is so much better these days. Money isn't really a concern. I have always bought the best equipment possible when it comes to hunting or fishing. let me know and thanks in advance.

2. brucelanthier

brucelanthier Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    There are excellent fixed BH's and excellent mechanical BH's. The one difference is making sure you have enough KE for the mechanicals. If you have the KE then all it would be is a matter of preference.

3. OHbowhntr

OHbowhntr Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Matt,