Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

New to archery- need arrow advice

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Steve wasilewski, Apr 9, 2023.

1. Steve wasilewski

Steve wasilewski Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So I’m completely new to archery. My goal is to hunt for Whitetail when this fall season arrives. I broken a number of bows in the backyard as they missed the target and go off into the backwoods. The archery shop that, to me, sells some expensive arrows, told me that the cheapo arrows that I got off of Amazon should be thrown away because they might result in hurting the bow.
    Can you guys give me some advice on some good practice arrows that won’t break the bank, but are also out of decent quality so that I have to worry about them breaking during normal use or otherwise harming the bow?

2. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    We would first need to know what you are shooting

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

3. Steve wasilewski

Steve wasilewski Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the reply. I’m shooting with a diamond prism compound bow.

4. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Brand, poundage, draw length

5. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
  6. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    This is a good thread.

Also once you decide on brand ( which is all preference) you just need to buy the appropriate Spined arrow for your rig. If you can afford it I advise shooting what you will shoot during season. It's not cheap breaking arrows and losing them but I don't advise skimping and shafts. Arrows are a HUGE rabbit Hole . You get into KE, FOC, and BH debates as soon as you get serious about making your own. So I recommend gets a shaft from a bow shop they should only carry decent ones and get started. It's great that you have lots of time to get this figured out and I'm personally here if you need advise, just hit me up off thread.

7. Steve wasilewski