New release advice

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ILbowhntr, Mar 10, 2022.

1. ILbowhntr

ILbowhntr Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Looking to move to a 3 or 4 finger thumb release.
    I’m shooting Scot Mongooses right now.
    Have a Cascade Model 8 that I’ve shot over the years, but I like having 2 and have no idea how to get another.
    Not looking for a hinge release.
    What’s anyone shooting and why do you like it.
    Thanks for the advice.
    Jim

2. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I've been shooting the true fire edge for a few years. Relatively cheap and no complaints.

I'd like like to try a stan, but more than I want to spend.

3. ILbowhntr

Dislikes Received:
    The Edge is the one I was looking at. I like the idea of the swivel head.

4. Rowdyray

Rowdyray Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Been shooting Tru-Fire or T.R.U. Ball wrist releases for years. I too, was looking to get into a 3 or 4 finger release. The Edge piqued my interest because of the swivel head. Probably because it was something I'm familiar with. Figured it wouldn't be too crazy to figure out. In the end, I went with the T.R.U. Ball max pro 4. Very similar. But, more adjustability on the thumb button. I have a big hand. And, the ability to attach a lanyard to keep on my wrist if I want. Still not keen on leaving it in a pocket or hanging from the D loop.

Only used it several times so far but, it's comfortable and consistent. It's winter here and have to pay to shoot indoors. Plan to shoot it a lot more this summer. Then decide which I'll use this fall.

5. 0317

0317 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: