New or Used Bow

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by wolveswithguns, Nov 26, 2018.

1. wolveswithguns

wolveswithguns Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi, I am brand new to the sport of bowhunting, but I have been rifle hunting for quite a few years now. I am currently deciding between two bows and was looking for some guidance as to which one to buy. The first is a brand new Bear Cruzer g2 with sight and rest a local bow shop for $399 plus arrows and a release. The second is a used Mathews Outback available on Craigslist that come with a whiskerbiscuit, a sight, arrows, a release, and hard case for $275. I have heard good things about both of these bows, just not sure which I should go with any suggestions would be appreciated.

2. pdun24

pdun24 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I don't know much about either of these bows.
    My advice would be to make 100% sure that these bows will fit you.
    It might be better to buy from the shop to begin developing a relationship with them. Especially when you're new, the staff at the shop can be very helpful.

3. wolveswithguns

wolveswithguns Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thank you for the reply, how should I go about making sure they fit me? Would it be just making sure it feels good in the hand, or what other things should I be looking for?

4. ruck139

ruck139 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Check your pro shop, maybe they take trade in's? A used bow would offer the best value, but with you being new to archery the help of a pro shop will prove invaluable unless you have a very knowledgeable friend to help you get set up.

dprsdhunter likes this.
  5. Blarney22

Blarney22 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: