Mic for a Canon T3i

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by Whitetailfreak52, Dec 5, 2016.

  1. Whitetailfreak52

    Whitetailfreak52 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Anyone out there have any advice on getting a mic for a T3i? Looking for something that will work as a interview mic as well.
     
  2. tynimiller

    tynimiller Legendary Woodsman

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Posts:
    11,436
    Likes Received:
    1,645
    Dislikes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Northern Indiana
    I love the one I bought awhile back, came with two windscreens of choice I choose the larger. I'll try to grab the brand. Honestly for close interviews in the tree anything with a solid windscreen will get the job done most likely.
     
  3. Fitz

    Fitz Legendary Woodsman

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Posts:
    19,215
    Likes Received:
    446
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ely, MN
    Rode makes great microphones. There's a number to choose from depending on your budget:

    VideoMicro $60
    VideoMic GO $100
    VideoMic $150
    VideoMic Pro $230

    The first two do not require batteries, the their signals are weaker and they rely on the DSLR's pre-amps which are all notoriously bad. They are still a big improvement over the built in mics though. The VM and VM Pro run off of 9v batteries and have a better signal. The VideoMic Pro even lets you adjust the input from -10db, 0dbl and +20dbl.

    I have 2 of the VideoMic Pro's and love them.
     
  4. Fitz

    Fitz Legendary Woodsman

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Posts:
    19,215
    Likes Received:
    446
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ely, MN
    I'd suggest windscreens (dead cats) for whatever mic you decide on. It really helps cut down on the wind noise, especially if you are talking soft in a tree on a breezy day.
     
  5. Whitetailfreak52

    Whitetailfreak52 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Have you tried the VideoMicro? It looks like a pretty cool little Mic for a small price.
     
  6. lgreenslade3

    lgreenslade3 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    I'll see you my videomic GO that I bought a couple months ago and have never used cause it only works for dslrs
     
  7. lgreenslade3

    lgreenslade3 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Posts:
    231
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Sell*
     
  8. soccerdan90

    soccerdan90 Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Posts:
    5,426
    Likes Received:
    868
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oskaloosa Iowa
    I have a Rode Videomicro I'd sell you for a good price. Bought it but it won't work with my G20. Forgot to send it back so I got stuck with it. I believe I bought a dead cat with it as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Whitetailfreak52

    Whitetailfreak52 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2013
    Posts:
    174
    Likes Received:
    5
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nebraska
    Thanks guys for the input. I just went with the Micro for now and for 60 bucks if I dont like it I can use it for other things I'm sure.
     

Share This Page