Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Marsh land hunting question

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by akajackson, Oct 16, 2023.

1. akajackson

akajackson Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm fairly new to Minnesota & a lot of the public hunting land is marsh country. I love the idea of learning how to hunt new environments.
    I struggle with being able to make use of Google maps or Google Earth for these areas bc they all look the same - green. And when I've traveled to different locations the actual ground couldn't be more different.
    I've been in the traditional cattail Marshs - these I can figure out.

But I've been in some where the vegetation is so thick & way over my head that it makes traversing very difficult. I don't think I'd see any deer, let alone a buck with a big rack trying to navigate through such areas. Maybe these areas thin out in the fall?!?

Or I've been in stuff that was only waist high, but again, the ground was so wet & rough, I was afraid I'd twist an ankle. I certainly couldn't go more than 50 yards through this stuff.

B4 I pack up to scout some more marsh areas that are 1-2 hours away I thought I'd see if anybody has any advise on how to approach these different marshy land. I'm not afraid to get wet & walk tons of miles, but would like to make the most of the limited time I have.

Heck, I'm not even sure how to tell if there are deer right in the area in marsh country as rubs & scrapes seem to be either more scarce or I'm in the wrong areas. Tracks & droppings are hard to see in marshland too.

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

2. Sota

Sota Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Not sure where in Minnesota but this time of year acorns are key if the crops are out but later season higher ground white cedar is key.

3. akajackson

akajackson Newb

Dislikes Received: