Looking for suggestions...

Discussion in 'Trail Cameras' started by mobow, Mar 5, 2009.

1. mobow

mobow Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Ok, I'm pretty new to the whole trail camera deal. The only one I've ever rocked out with was an old 35mm POS.......Long story, but this year I want to kick it up a notch. So I'm wanting to get 1 for sure, probably 2.

Here is what I want to do with them, then I'm looking for suggestions. I first just want to take an inventory. For this, I will likely utilize a corn pile or something to lure them to one spot. For this application I don't mind a camera with a flash as I am not really concerned with spooking deer. I was thinking along the lines of the Moutrie D40.

However, I also want to utilize the camera to try to pattern some deer, so for this application I want something IR. This is the one I really have no idea what I want. I don't mind spending a little money here, but I don't want to break the bank either. I am more concerned with this camera than the first, so if the one I end up getting is more coin than I would like I'll just get this one and not 2.

I was looking at the Stealth Cam I540IR or the Bushnell Sentry, but folks....I'm open to suggestions on this one.

2. Schultzy

Schultzy Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    If It was me I wouldn't even think about any other camera out there other then a Reconyx. Yes there spendy but you get what you pay for with trail cams. Some Reconyx models have night pics where you don't see no lights what so ever when they take night time pics, by far the best thing yet for night time picture camera's. The camera's also don't make a sound when taking a picture like a bunch of others all do. There trigger speed Is crazy awesome, nothing comes close to It. You won't miss a thing with this camera. The only thing I don't like about the Reconyx Is that they don't take video's. I have the RC60 and so far I like the camera. Here's there website- http://www.reconyx.com/