Linemans belt out of rope?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ybohunt, Jul 30, 2020.

  1. ybohunt

    ybohunt Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Posts:
    1,433
    Likes Received:
    262
    Dislikes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Huchinson kansas
    Hey guys. Just curious if anyone has made their own lineman’s belt/rope out of climbing rope and carbiners?
    I already have some carabiners laying around and thought maybe I’d make own instead of buying more stuff.
    Post pictures or comment if you have any input!
     
  2. 0317

    0317 Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Dislikes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    yep, been using my own for quite a few years now .... I use a Rope Man 1 Ascender and 12.5MM ( 1/2" ) Static Rope and the correct Carabiners .. I made mine extra long so I can go up tree's all climbers must pass on .. 30" + dia. tree's .... I get 20 ft (sold per ft) so I can make my knots as needed and cut it to the length I need ... I also rubber dip both my ends ... ... I'll post a pic tomorrow of my rig with the length of it also ....

    https://www.karstsports.com/new-england-km-iii-static-rope-per-foot/
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2020
    ybohunt likes this.
  3. 0317

    0317 Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Dislikes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    <iframe width="560" height="315" src="" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>
     
  4. Planopurist

    Planopurist Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    76
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    I’ve made 2 lineman’s belts and 2 lifelines. I trust them more than the purchased ones. I use 6' - 11mm or 1/2" static rope (obviously more for a lifeline)
    2' - 6mm or 7mm rope for the prussik
    1 - Climbing carabiner


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    ybohunt likes this.
  5. dnoodles

    dnoodles Legendary Woodsman

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    13,452
    Dislikes Received:
    17
    Location:
    People's Republic of IL
    I took a safety rope and a Rope Man ascender, use that as my linemans belt up the tree then it becomes part of my saddle harness rig.
     
  6. 0317

    0317 Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Dislikes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    from end of loop to knot end is 10ft .. I'd rather have it a tad long for those larger tree's... nothing worse than getting to a tree you want to go up, and find out your linemans rope is to short ..... even my Stick ropes are longer to get up those tree's and I have extensions for my Stand straps ...

    20200731_113041.jpg
     
    Planopurist and ybohunt like this.
  7. 0317

    0317 Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2020
    Posts:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Dislikes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Midwest
    here is my harness, had it for a while, I'm replacing it this season ..

    20200731_112657.jpg
     
  8. Planopurist

    Planopurist Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    76
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    I think the prussik is quieter. I also use a single carabiner per belt and simply loop the belt thru the kip loops of the harness, then through the end loop of the belt itself. This saves two potentially noisy pieces of metal hardware. Technically, 4 pieces if I carry 2 belts so that I can navigate tree limbs and maintain 100% tie-off. I sometimes use one as the safety strap if I don’t have one pre-hung. Let me know if you still want a picture; I’ll have to go dig it out.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page