Least expensive camera with that is possibly lanc compatible

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by dfal, Nov 29, 2016.

  1. dfal

    dfal Newb

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    I am wondering if there are cameras out there that can be rigged up to be lanc compatible that are cheaper, or what is the cheapest one that you know of?

    I just saw someone on the internet set up their Sony HDR CX220 using a couple different cables to be able to connect a varizoom remote. I didn't know this was possible. Would be sweet to do if it could be done with a Canon Vixia hf r600
     
  2. pitzer25

    pitzer25 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    275
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Western PA
    I am still new to all this filming stuff but i think your best bet is to try and find a used camera on ebay or amazon. in the canon line that would be the vixia hf g10 or g20. im not sure how you could rig the r600 to work with a lanc controller seeing that there is no spots on the camera to plug in
     
  3. Ryan A

    Ryan A Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    12
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    There is no way to rig up a r600 with a varizoom/lanc. Some of the older Sony models that have AV/R ports its possible with a couple adaptor cables.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. Smokey

    Smokey Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    298
    Likes Received:
    13
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seeley, WI.
    I have the Canon vixia hf g20 and there is no LANC port on this camera. My older Sony had a LANC port and I wish to get a Canon with LANC so I can use my remote.

    I think one needs to go up to the G40 to get the LANC
     
  5. Aaron Jones

    Aaron Jones Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    302
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas but imma an okie at heart.
    Smokey, your g20 should have a lanc port. It isn't labeled lanc though, it should say remote. I bought the g30 which is very similar to the g20. Both have lanc remote capability.


    Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums
     
  6. Smokey

    Smokey Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Posts:
    298
    Likes Received:
    13
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seeley, WI.
    Aaron, you are right, I stand corrected. For some reason I thought that port was only for the Canon remote control since it is not labeled LANC and is not blue as the Sony is.

    I have the Stealthzoom by Varizoom and just hooked it up and it works great.
     
  7. drslyr

    drslyr Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    729
    Likes Received:
    191
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Location:
    western ma.
    dfal whats the problem money? even a decent lanc is 150 to 200
     
  8. dfal

    dfal Newb

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Curiosity really. I like the hf r600 and wouldn't really need anything more camera wise besides a lanc terminal which would help for self filming.
     
  9. drslyr

    drslyr Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    729
    Likes Received:
    191
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Location:
    western ma.
    Your gonna need a tree arm too.
     

Share This Page