Learning to Hunt whitetails.

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by grizzly1530, Jul 12, 2013.

1. grizzly1530

grizzly1530 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have a question for everyone. Everyone here is so knowledgable on whitetails, like their feeding patterns, bedding areas, most used trails during different times of the year. I am new to bowhunting, this will be my first year, I have always whitetail hunted with a gun and had success, but I never actually truly Hunted the animal. What I mean by this, is I never learned patterns, tendencies, anything like that, I basically went out to the stand, and shot the deer that came by. Now I actually want to learn about whitetails, where to put stands, how to hunt them, how to identify bedding areas, how to identify food sources, all of that stuff.

My question is, how did you guys learn? I know there are books out there, and I have read some magazines on the subject, but a lot of the time, I don't really understand what they are trying to say. Does anyone have a specific book on how to identify these areas, and what to look for?

2. Whitetail_Widowmaker

Whitetail_Widowmaker Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I was and still am fortunate enough to have my dads 40 years experience to teach me how to hunt whitetails when I was younger and I learned a great deal from "on the job training". A great book I have heard the guys on the site talk about is Pastor Bill Vales book and you can find it on his website, Pressured Deer - Bowhunting Strategies and Tips for Shooting Mature Whitetail Deer | Intense Strategies for Hunting Pressured Trophy Whitetails. But to be honest the absolute best way to learn where to find bedding areas, funnels, feedings areas, pinch points, all their little tendencies because not one deer is the same and where to put stands is to actually get in the woods and spend some real time out there scouting cause you can't do that in a book.

3. grizzly1530