Is there no common courtesy between hunters anymore?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Meathunter, Dec 27, 2011.

1. Meathunter

Meathunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Need some help with a situation I have found myself in.

Background:
    I am huntin 240 acres of family (my wifes) owned property that is an hour and half away . it is broken up into three eighty acre parcels with a sister owning one parcel (my wife's G-ma, and two Aunts). I have been hunting it for three years now with only my brothers and dad, until about november of this year.

The Situation:
    one of the sisters decides she wants someone to start Bushhogging the property on a monthly Bases. We have kept the roads clean and useable, but don't have the equipment to do what she wants. so she work's up a deal with a local guy to do the work, in exchange to hunt her land (just 80 acres). no big deal we don't really hunt that side of the land very much anyways so what ever. I got out yesterday to put out my new trail cam in a new area and he has a stand there, after further scouting he has 4 stands up on all 240 acres not just the 80 he has permission for. And I have left a couple of messages with the guy and haven't got a return call yet!

The resolution:
    this is where is want some advice. The a-hole in me wants to tell the guy to get his stands off my side of the property and don't step foot back on it. But he lives adjacent to the property and couldn't guarantee that he wouldn't mess with my stuff. the other part of me wants to offer the guy to hunt with us (he only gunhunts) but using only community stands (which is how we hunt now) and we can use his bigger and better equipment to do bigger and better food plots. I know which ones is better, just trying to think of a way to do it that I excert my authority (the other two sisters told me to kick him off the land) but still have his help for our mutual benefit.

thanks in advance for any help.

2. Vito