Is my bow too small?

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Kaylen, Nov 7, 2017.

1. Kaylen

Kaylen Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am a complete amateur,and on the recommendation of a bow shop I bought a" Impulse 31", ... after about a week of practice and with the research I did on line the bow seems small for me. I am 6'3'' , my wingspan is 76 inches ,,,which makes my draw length I believe 30.4'',,,,the bow is supposed to be set to 30'' , but to the best of my measuring research I think the bow is 29.5 or 29.75... my support arm has to bend more than I feel is natural to get the kisser and sight in position...is this enough info for anyone to share an opinion? to the best of my calculation it seems about 3/4 inch short,,,thanks for any input , I understand that no one can know for sure without seeing it. but any info is appreciated... oh by the way the bows maximum length is 30

2. BB4tw

BB4tw Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Some might depend on your anchor point. I used to use a 30 inch draw but once I moved to 29 and changed my anchor point to the tip of my nose instead of the side, my accuracy improved. My bow arm is bent slightly but not to the point of feeling uncomfortable.

If you are caught between draw lengths, it's better to be a little short than too long.

Sent from my VS500 using Bowhunting.com Forums mobile app

3. Kaylen

Kaylen Newb

Dislikes Received:
    thanks , I'm thinking about switching to a bow that has I can experiment with,

4. Rangerdan

Rangerdan Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: