Iowa Public - Which Zone?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Justin, Mar 11, 2019.

1. Justin

Justin Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    I've been sitting on Iowa points for a few years now and I'm finally going to cash them. I have enough points to draw any zone in the state so I'm curious to get some feedback on anyone who has hunted public as a non-resident. It doesn't have to be in this thread as I know people are cagey about posting info to the public so if you want, PM me.

All along I was planning on hunting the NE part of the state in Zone 9. It looks like there's a lot of hilly terrain up there, which I'm familiar with from hunting NW IL for many years. There's also a fair amount of large tracts of public access in that zone - at least compared to what we have in IL. To get to the spots I'm wanting to hunt it's looking like a 4-5 hour drive from home, or 2-3 hours from my lease in NW IL.

The question I have is whether or not I'm being foolish by targeting a zone that isn't in the Southern part of the state? Deer numbers seem to be good in NE Iowa as Clayton and Alamakee Counties are typically some of the top producing spots. However, everyone I've ever spoken with says Zone 5 and Zone 6 as "the" spots to hunt in Iowa.

By comparison Zone 9 had 308 non-resident archery tags allocated to it last year. Zone 5 had 560. So it would stand to reason that Zone 5 would see some additional pressure. Although Zone 5 is larger in size the math works out to 1 NR bow tag per 9.8 miles in Zone 5 and 1 per 11.5 miles in Zone 9.

Just curious to get everyone's thoughts on this. Unfortunately, I don't have time to scout both spots so I need to pick one or the other and then go for it one weekend pretty soon.

virginiashadow likes this.
  2. davidingle

davidingle Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: