Illinois Land Owner

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by lgordon711, Oct 25, 2016.

1. lgordon711

lgordon711 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Hi guys not sure where to put this thread but trying to figure out the best way for me to get to hunt.

Short story my family (Father included) own property in southern Illinois. Growing up I always got landowner tags for free. I went to college and moved out to Colorado. I am now a Colorado resident and not Illinois anymore. I personally am not a owner of any of the property back home. What is the best cheapest way for me to get to hunt. Does anybody have any Spencerian with this? I dont want to buy out of state tags and license. Im pretty sure landowner you dont need a license just a tag. Is there a way to put my name on the property as well as my father or does he actually have to gift me a portion of it?

Its been 2 years since I have hunted and would not mind hunting next year a bit.

Thanks again guys

2. Skywalker

Skywalker Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I think you will be required to purchase the non-resident deer tags since you are no longer a resident of IL and don't live with any of the landowners.

3. cls74

cls74 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
  4. lgordon711

Dislikes Received:
    But what if I owned land? Would I get land owners tag even if im not a resident? I know right now I would have to purchase out of state tags but what If I owned the land is what im asking? Or if there is some kind of Co-Owner of the land like my dad could just put my name in addition to mine. Im not sure how all that stuff works.

To clarify my questions are
    1. Can I get land owners while not being a resident but owning the land?
    2. If so what is the easiest way to do that?

5. lgordon711

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks CLS I saw your post right after I hit send on mine. Looks like it would be alot cheaper 150 for buck 25 for doe If I was a land owner and non resident.

6. cls74