How Far In To Go

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by WhiteBoy95, Aug 14, 2018.

1. WhiteBoy95

WhiteBoy95 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am planning on hunting public land this year. This is my first time in the state, and first time on public land. My question is this-- how deep do you public land hunters usually travel into the woods? I've read all the studies that say "most hunters only go 300 yards off the beaten path". How true is this? Located in NC if that helps at all.

2. virginiashadow

virginiashadow Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Every place is different. Some of my best spots are near a mile in and some are only 200 yds from the road. But the biggest thing to look for....hunter pressure. Get away from that and find diverse habitats and you will find deer.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

3. cantexian

cantexian Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I find that focusing on difficult terrain is more important than distance. Most people are not willing to climb a hill or cross a river. The harder an area is to access, the less pressure there will be. That can be very near a parking area depending on the individual piece of land. In flatter terrain, getting away pressure will often mean getting farther from roads and trails.

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

early in likes this.
  4. alenhard15

alenhard15 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    My best spot last year was maybe 75 yards from the parking lot, I could see my car from the tree. It all depends on how other hunters hunt the land, I’ve found sometimes with public land you almost scout people more than deer and find where they aren’t

Adam
    Matthews Z7 Magnum 29/70
    Gold Tip Hunter XT
    100g Slick Trick Standard

cantexian and early in like this.
  5. PreacherMan76

PreacherMan76 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: