How do you find the deer?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by BigUTMuleys, Aug 27, 2013.

1. BigUTMuleys

BigUTMuleys Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I am curious, how do you determine where you are going to hunt ? How do you track down the deer?

I ask this because I have been hunting for 15 years, but the little info know about hunting is all self taught and I haven't had anyone else that would ever teach me.

I am 30 years old and I want to take my hunting to a new level, not just for me but mostly so I can try to teach my kids more about God, outdoors and hunting for the food God provides us with.

Should I look into any sort if wildlife biology courses ?

What are your thoughts? I want to learn!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free

Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  2. Treestandsniper

Treestandsniper Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I find the deer to be quite tasty:p

The world is your oyster. Try looking for books on deer behavior.

Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  3. AlexB32

AlexB32 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    In Nebraska our game and parks staff a lot of biologists. They are usually more than happy to sit down or talk over the phone with you about specific areas. They have a wealth of knowlage and a lot of resources avaliable. If I am ever hunting some where new I always contact one to get the skinny on the area.

4. No.6Hunter

No.6Hunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Learn how to read Topos and read up on some Botany. These two things, IMO, are two things that have improved my success in the recent years.

5. Slugger

Slugger Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    You should read some hunting articles and books even magazines that can catch you up. Read some of the threads on this forum

6. Goosepond Monster

Goosepond Monster Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
  7. ATbuckhunter

ATbuckhunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: