Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Help, please =)

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by Countryboy95, Jun 15, 2009.

1. Countryboy95

Countryboy95 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm open to suggestions on deer hunting strategies. This is my first year hunting and I'll be hunting with my father who used to bow hunt but got tied up in work and unfortunately can't bow hunt anymore. So, since I'm new I have no clue where to start. The deer in the area don't use travel route's whatsoever and they don't seem to interested in the clover and rye planted in the open field either. I really don't know how to hunt them, so if you guys could help me I'd greatly appreciate it. Also, I don't have a tree stand yet and might not cause I'm on a budget and they cost too much.

2. virginiashadow

virginiashadow Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Country boy, click on this link.....

http://mapper.acme.com/

Find your hunting grounds, then send the link back to us on here. We can take a look at the property from an aerial/topographic view and suggest some places for you to hunt.

Before you get to that link and all, here are some pointers for you when you are first starting out.

1) You cannot beat the wind. Hunt downwind of any place you predict deer will move. If you are wrong about where they are moving, so be it. At least you tried to hunt the wind.

2) Find thicker areas located on higher ground. A lot of the time, deer like to bed in those areas, then leak out prior to dark to feed. Cut them off and hunt downwind to get a shot.

3) Be realistic in how far you can shoot. If you can shoot accurately out to 30 yards in practice, consider only shooting out to 20 yards when you get a real target. Adjust as necessary when you gain confidence.